A day of dinosaurs, choir concerts, cold toes and red wine

The fact that I didn’t forget my pedometer this morning is frankly fantastic, especially seeing as it was 5:30am when I left the house (after working until 11pm the night before) and it was freezing outside, which only added to the blurriness inside my head.

During the day I work in a Zoo as a PR Manager. This morning we welcomed eleven large animatronic dinosaurs in to take up residence from the beginning of the Easter holidays, right through to September. I had issued a press release inviting media to come to take pictures of their grand arrival. As I stood shivering at 6:30am I wasn’t remotely surprised when only one photographer turned up.

Over the course of the next four hours four large trucks turned up and unloaded the new Zoo inhabitants. I’m not a fan of the cold but remembering my pedometer I strolled around the car park, jumped from one foot to the other, did starjumps, kneelifts anything to keep me moving (much to the amusement of the large group of high-vis wearing men unloading these giant beasts). By the time I got up to the office I was shattered, but I had made a good dent into my daily 10,000 steps target.

The benefit of an early start is an early finish. At home I threw my bag on the sofa, still shivering from the morning and desperate to warm up before the school run. However, the sitting I longed to do wasn’t going to raise my number of steps and the day was seeping away.

I clipped the lead on my dog and took her over to the field. The wind had grown fingernails and was scratching at my cheeks, making my eyes water. Every step I took my body felt colder and wearier.

Back at home I dropped off my dog and picked up my car keys for the school run. I checked my pedometer and it read a reasonable 7596 steps. Reluctantly I put my car keys back in my pocket and started the fifteen minute walk to my sons’ school. I could no longer feel my face when I got there (although, as my eldest son interestingly pointed out – can you ever?). I was rewarded by my effort by a front row seat for my youngest son’s choir concert. As he stood before me awkwardly singing Miley Cyrus’s The Climb the warmth started to come back into my cheeks.

Back at home I was ready to call it a day. The red wine was open and the heating was on. With a few hundred steps to go I ran around the house, much to the delight of my children and my energetic dog who all tore around after me until finally the target had been hit and I could claim my rightful place on the sofa, under a blanket with a glass of wine in my hand.

10,000 steps is a hard slog, even during a ‘busy’ day. I can’t imagine having to go this far simply for water and it’s taken me a whole day to complete it. I discard my pedometer at 8pm, checking it off my mental ‘to do’ list. However the women that we’re mentally walking with and supporting don’t get to check it off. This distance, this pursuit is necessary to keep them alive.

Leave a Reply

